The First Post Is The Deepest

For some reason with a recently arrived daughter and a new job looming in my immediate future, I decided to start a blog. Why? I’m guessing it is the sleep deprivation.

The reality is, I’ve been meaning to do this for some time. I’ve been interested in information security for years and haven’t really given anything back to the “community” or provided any information that might be useful to someone. I believe giving back is an important part of any industry and infosec is no exception. I have already had so many generous people help me along the way that it is time to pay it forward if I can at all. I’m hoping that with this blog I can give something back — even if it’s not stellar information. Why not stellar? Mainly because I’m still a student and believe that in almost all cases someone has done something better than me, before me.

However, I’m hoping this site will be a place where interested parties or students of infosec can visit and learn something, or at the very least, follow along as I stumble my way through learning more about SIEMs, DFIR, malware, reverse engineering, VMs, labs, etc…. Or hey, just comment on my ramblings and point out why my network design is flawed. Like I said, I’m still a student!

My interest in infosec goes back to the early 90s when I first got a modem and had access to the internet but I was largely a script kiddie with decent social engineering skills who was obsessed with AberMUDs. I was one of several high school ‘tech squad’ members which meant that my high school had internet before it had a real sysadmin so they let the students run the network and applications. It was….interesting… I spent a lot of time in college goofing off before getting a degree in English and Japanese. I then moved to Japan for a few years. Fast forward to 2008 when I landed in Sydney, decided to get serious about having a career in IT, and finally in 2015 got a job in infosec. I was previously the “Cyber Security Supervisor” for a large arts organisation in Australia and am now working as a systems administrator and security analyst for an “information technology security consultancy.” Like I said, I’m still a student, but hoping this blog will be useful to someone else out there on a similar career path or a student looking to learn more.